First Look For SCBWI Illustrator’s Day

abamber_ponyboat_01_500px

At the end of August, I attended the SCBWI (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators) Illustrator’s Day in San Francisco. The “First Look” assignment was to illustrate the first three pages of a picture book based on the lyrics of Lyle Lovett’s song “If I Had A Boat”. Only one page needed to be finished, the rest could be sketches. The pages were projected and critiqued live by illustrator Marla Frazee, publisher Allyn Johnston and art director Ann Bobco.

I enjoyed this assignment and recently finished the rest of the pages. I added these to my website and will add more children’s book illustrations soon. Check back in a bit!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.